NEW WORLD DISORDER

This post exceeds and includes, for good or ill, Black Light.  As mentioned in my Introduction some months ago, I have no ax to grind, no particular agenda in sharing my perspectives on UFO phenomena and related matter.  I’m fairly certain, to the extent anyone well-informed  can be, that I harbor no desire, fantasy, or commercial interest in “proving” the reality of the unknown.

The unknown doesn’t need me, you, or anyone in order to manifest itself.  Simply put, it does–has always done–what it “wants.”  Already I’m in trouble with the very words I’ve used to describe my plight.  I am blessed (or cursed) with the capacity to see perspectives outside of mine.  I warn you, in the spirit of argument, discourse, call it what you will, that I intend here to state my thoughts and–worse–feelings on matters uncanny and dark, assumed and manipulative.  I can however assure you that I’m not here to waste your time, poke wise at your beliefs, or rain black rumors.  I’ve heard enough of that–so have you. As much as I claim to be objective, I am not. No one is. Objectivity, like perfection, is not a human attribute.  Even the most psychopathic (Hannibal Lecter, for example; someone we’ve seen in pop culture) “freak” cannot be so.  That’s how he/she became disturbed.  Caged forever in one catastrophic trauma.  No matter their social mask, they cannot ever escape the emotional horror that put them there.

So it is, much less (I hope) that the spectrum of UFO experience manifests.  I began seriously thinking, like most, that UFOs were craft from another world.  Then I “escalated” after reading the European (despised by many Americans) accounts into pondering whether the entire phenomenon might not be some incredibly hard to grasp branch of Jungian theory.  I.E., projection of archetypes from the collective human unconscious.  You have heard this well before me, but it almost makes “sense.”

This theory (which remains such) is abstract, hard to grasp, and disturbing.  Even the rare accounts involving authoritative scrutiny leave us with the idea that what is seen might very well originate in us.  This does not indicate psychosis (though it has) in witnesses. One of my favorite (because so dead-pan) reports took place in Butler, Pennsylvania, on March 20, 1967.  “At 10:45 PM [approximately], a man and his daughter saw two lights that they thought were landing lights on an aircraft, but they came to ground level, flew straight toward the car, and suddenly vanished. At the same time, five figures appeared about [10 feet] away.  They had narrow, pointed noses, mouths and eyes like slits, blond hair, rough skin, and were dressed in loose ‘hunter-like’ clothes. Witnesses drove away as fast as they could.”

This account is chronicled in Jacques Vallee’s Passport to Magonia, as many of you probably know. The book documents 100 years of so-called close encounters, from 1868 through 1968.  I do not claim to know what the UFO phenomenon represents, but Vallee’s painstaking research tells us–without doubt–that whatever is going on has been doing so well before human technology could fake it.

One more Vallee report might very well convince us that something Other genuinely exists.  This, perhaps more than all in Magonia, haunts me more by absence than the surreal terror of certainty.  “Chrysville, Pennsylvania, 1933.  A man observed a faint violet light in a field between this town and Morrestown.  Walking to it, he found an ovoid object [9 feet] in diameter and [6 feet] thick with a circular opening similar to a vault door. Pushing it, he found the room full of violet light and observed many instruments, no occupant. Smell of ammonia.”

1933. The date of this tells me something–I wish I knew what.  This is why Vallee’s book is so important.  Some guy seeing a light, and walking toward it.  The account sounds like bad 1950s science fiction, but it wasn’t.  The culture for that would not exist for two decades.  No “model” haunted anyone’s head–flying saucers and “ovoids” did not yet manifest in popular–or any–culture.  The man reported what he had seen.  And smelled.  Wish I could have been there….

Such is the poetic strangeness of Passport to Magonia.  Those today who criticize it are missing the point.  No one in present time–to my knowledge–has reported “entity” sightings even close to what Vallee so precisely garnered.  This is why I cannot completely drown Jung’s collective unconscious theory of projection.  Why did the old-school entities resemble fairies, tiny hunters, and even monsters, dreamlike but real to the witnesses?  Though such encounters sound to me fascinating, they did not positively affect those who claimed to have seen them.  In fact (akin to the so-called Mothman sightings between 1966-1967), those who spoke to investigators (and it must be admitted that some of these had their own agendas) did not want their names made public.  Hence, they weren’t seeking “fame,” especially in the most dated accounts.

In closing, I’ll admit I don’t have an answer.  But I take the “old” sightings seriously.  American–or any other–technology simply could not have faked or hoaxed anything even approaching the level of high-strangeness we see in the early accounts.

To me, and me alone, this indicates that whatever UFO phenomena represents, is far more complex and enigmatic than any popular theory involving “grays” or other assumed extraterrestrial presence.  This is, admittedly, a very difficult path to walk.

But I’d rather walk with dreams, despite the cost, than walk alone in a world without meaning. 

 

Leave a Reply

